top of page
David Allan The Highland Wedding 1780.jpg.article-962-2.jpg



Ruckus featuring Keir GoGwilt, violin

Niel Gow (b. Perthshire, 1727–1807) was eighteenth-century Scotland’s most celebrated fiddler. His son, Nathaniel, combined traditional and original dance tunes under the Gow name in six collections of strathspeys and reels. Today, Ruckus and GoGwilt bring their foot stomping, dance-forward approach to tunes from the Gow Collections of Strathspey Reels, Books 1 and 2 (1784, 1788). Gow’s dance tunes are full of the signature "Scotch snap" and rhythmic drive familiar to lovers of traditional Scottish dance, along with a refined, italianate lyricism.

Keir GoGwilt is a violinist, composer, and musicologist who was born in Edinburgh and grew up in New York City, where he currently lives. His work combines historical research and collaborative experimentation across a range of musical styles and genres. Known as a "formidable performer" (New York Times) with an "evocative sound" (London Jazz News) and "finger-busting virtuosity" (San Diego Union Tribune), he has soloed with groups including the Orchestra of St. Luke's, Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra, Chinese National Symphony, Orquesta Filarmonica de Santiago, the Boston Modern Orchestra Project, the New England Philharmonia, and the La Jolla Symphony. His duo with bassist Kyle Motl features their original compositions and has been noted for its "rhapsodic gestures" (The New Yorker) and "keen musical intellects" (The Wire). His current project, Zarabanda Variations, speculatively sounds music from 16th-century and 17th-century New Spain/Mexico through collaborative composition and improvisation. This season he is creating and performing a stage role for Bobbi Jene Smith's "Marie & Pierre," with original music by Celeste Oram for the Sinfonieorchester Basel. He is an artist-in-residence with the JACK Quartet for the 2023-25 seasons.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram

The Broome Set

Charannald’s Set

Jenny Sutton’s Set

Robie Dona Gorach

Celeste Oram’s A Tuning Tune (2023) 

Loch Earn Set

Lament Set

Lord Gregory

Marquis Gigg Set

Lady Helenora’s Set


80 minutes (without intermission)

Doug Balliett, bass & viola da gamba

Rami El-Aasser, percussion

Elliot Figg, harpsichord & synthesizer

Fiona Gillespie, voice & penny whistle

Keir GoGwilt, violin

Paul Holmes Morton, theorbo and guitar

Clay Zeller-Townson, baroque bassoon

bottom of page